Showing posts with label Girls Girls Girls. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Girls Girls Girls. Show all posts

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Hot Heavy and Bad (Joi and Devon Lee)-"One"



This is the new video from Joi and Devon Lee's new musical partnership Hot Heavy and Bad. They debuted this at Pal's Lounge on Auburn Ave (which is also where some of this video was shot) last Thursday and the felines in the building were going ape shit over it. Joi enlisted the talents of a lot of cool people on the come up in the city for this video, so that show you just how cool she is.

Be warned though, the name of the group is Hot Heavy and Bad. Do not run up on her saying "I like YOUR new song"...she will politely check you for it.

Previously: Joi Covers Creative Loafing

Friday, August 6, 2010

Joi Covers Creative Loafing



The First Lady of the Dungeon Family is gracing this weeks issue of Creative Loafing. Written by Jacinta Howard, the story talks about how timing has always seemed to be an issue in Joi's career even though she has been co-signed and supported by everyone from Madonna to Raphael Saadiq to Outkast.

Though she will always be appreciated and known as Joi to her fans, she is recreating herself as a member of Hot Heavy & Bad that includes her musical partner, guitarist, producer and Pal's Lounge owner Devon Lee (who come to find out used to be in Proton way back in the day). They debuted their new video "One" last night at Pal's Lounge and its hot stuff. Everybody that's heard the album says its dope as hell, which isn't surprising.

READ: Joi's Bad Ass Revenge

Since we here, might as well share a couple of my favorite Joi songs right quick, both of these are from her last solo album, 2005's Tennessee Slim Is the Bomb. I remember kinda getting checked by Joi at this party when I told her how dope it was. Come to find out, it wasn't supposed to be out and I had a bootleg copy. Sorry.


"Say Say Lil Fine Ass Niggah" feat. Trauma Black, Bun B and Pastor Troy

"I'm So Famous"

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Sunset Lounge - Evolution of The Day Party (video re-cap)



Shied man...if you aren't up on the Sunset Lounge parties that go down at Shout one Sunday out the month, you are truly missing out. I've been going to them since they started last year and they are off the chain.

This past Sunday they had $5 Belvedere specials so you know I indulged and balled on a budget and got my friends a couple rounds. As you can see from this video its a nice crowd and the ladies come out in full force.

I missed the night action truthfully. I got their around 4pm and was kinda feeling a certain way by 8pm...so I had to get up out of there before I embarrassed myself. But yeah, I had a ball. Be on the look out for the next one.

Shout out to J Carter, FCC and Moetown Lee for putting this on.

Thursday, January 21, 2010

"I Had A Cadillac In Prison": Fillmore Slim Speaks On Pimping and the Blues


"I didn't know she was a hooker..."

This is some pretty interesting stuff. Upper Playground follows reknown (and reformed) pimp Fillmore Slim speaks in detail on how he got into pimping (the game literally chose him), his run-ins with the law and why he returned to his roots...singing the blues. Dude even pimped RJ Reynolds granddaughter at one point.

Two more vids after the jump. Spotted at Kuhvet

Here is the beginning of my post.
"I had a Cadillac in prison"


"I don't have no haters...everybody love me"

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Siya feat. Sydne Renee'-"Don't You Fall In Love"




SIYA feat. Sydne Renee'-"Don't You Fall In Love"

Siya leaked a new song from her upcoming State of Mind project. This ain't the final verson though. Don't judge shawty...just listen.

Produced by The Olympiks

Previously: INBOXication: Siya

Sade-"Soldier of Love"




Sade-"Soldier of Love"

Obviously the internets are already going crazy over this song...but I have to admit, upon first listen I wasn't really feeling this. Granted, I am just waking up from a crazy night and I'm a little out of it, but yeah, eh, I'ma need this one to grow on me. Don't get me wrong, this song will definitely be put to use when the opportunity arises, but its probably not gonna be something I ride to on the regular, like I do the rest of my Sade songs. But Sweetback gets down with the instrumental at the end.

I think folks just happy to get some new Sade in their life, which I am too. Its kinda like when Grandma comes home for Christmas, you happy as hell to see her...but when you find out she ain't cooking or bearing gifts, you kinda like, uh...aight den Granny.

I'm gonna have to hear the rest of the album because I'm not sold with this joint alone.

Monday, December 7, 2009

SMKA & Fadia Kader present Perfect Attendance Mixtape Vol. 1-2-10



Perfect Attendance is one of the few talent showcases in Atlanta where the winner actually stands to win something worthwhile and get feedback from people aren't artists just like them...

Perfect Attendance is a monthly showcase presented by SMKA & Fadia Kader... providing you the most talented artists in the region. The first Perfect Attendance of 2010 features 9 of the most talented female Singers and MCs in the Atlanta area. The Perfect Attendance Mixtape Vol 1-2-10 presented by SMKA & Fadia Kader features 2 songs from each performer, hosted and mixed by Dub Floyd. There will be 5 MCs and 4 Singers performing for a chance to win a promotion prize package including:

Video EPK by PhiltheGod
Photo Shoot with Dustin Chambers
Consulting by Come Up Kids DVLPMT
8 Hrs of Studio Time @ S-Line Studios
Music Production & Studio Time with SMKA
Licensing Opportunity with Affix Music


As you can see this edition is featuring nothing but the ladies this go'round...can't be mad at that. This mixtape features all of the featured artists. The actual showcase goes down Saturday, January 2nd @ 529.


DOWNLOAD: Perfect Attendance Mixtape Vol. 1-2-10

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Star 94's Dating In The Dark (or the light?)



Alright, so I stumbled across this flyer over at The D Diaries just now. Apparently Star 94 is has this thing every third Thursday where they have speed dating inside the Dialog in the Dark exhibit at Atlantic Station. Basically it goes...you speed date in the dark, at the end of the night you make a match and then you go over to Strip for drinks and food with your match and you can meet the other folks that was in there with you.

Now, I've been to Dialog in the Dark and it was a (no pun intended, hell, cant be intended really) eye-opening experience. Been wanting to go back myself and I'm still encouraging others to check it out. Its dope.

So, naturally this Dating in the Dark thing really intrigues me. It really looks fun. I've never been to any of these speed dating things but they look pretty interesting. So combining it with Dialog in the Dark is sure to be an unforgettable experience...which can be good or bad.

My thing is this. Its hosted by Star 94. If my memory serves me correct, that was the country station back in the day. Now it looks like its taken the Pop route music wise. But it looks like its mainly White pop. I mean shit, I went to their website and they had got damn...Pink, Nickleback, Britney Spears and Kelly Clarkston at the top of the page. Sheid, they ain't even have Seal, Mariah Carey OR Beyonce on that mahfuggah...and EVERYBODY loves Beyonce.

So from seeing this and the pics on their website, its pretty safe to say that um, ain't no sistas gonna be at this joint. Hell, no Black people period for that matter. Really, no Asians, Latins or Eskimos either! Now, I've been the only Black dude in the room on several occasions. Concerts (I went to see Soul Live at Variety Playhouse once and I was the only brotha there other than the ones in the band), networking events, bars and lounges, bougie dinners, certain restaurants, etc. I'm good. I'm cool. I don't be feeling nervous at all, I'm good.

But this is different though, like....shit, its blantant flirting and fraternizing going on at this thing, en masse. And I can't help but think that say I mess around and meet some White girl in the dark and hit it off, then we go outside to have drinks...she looks at me like "dude." I mean, my feelings wouldn't be hurt or nothing, but still.

I mean, don't get me wrong, I have nothing against White women either. Hell, some of them be cool and cute. I've hung around (in a group with friends) and have worked with a couple here and there over the last few years. I find Cameron Diaz and Charlotte from Sex in the City to be attractive, hahahah. I appreciate beauty in every color. Its just that, I myself have never dated one. Hell, I think the only time I've even been in alone in the same room with a White woman was when I was getting a suit tailored once. Don't judge me shawty...its just the path my life has taken. So yeah, I have little to no expereinece in this area and litterally (and figuratively) going in blind to it may not be the way to go.

But yeah, what ya'll think? You feel me on this one? Disagree? Have anything say/share? Are you going? (that question is for everybody btw)

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

The Plight of the Female Emcee: 3 Types of Rappers That Annoy Everyone



Fellow writer and soon to be author Jacinta Howard just posted a entertaining analysis on the state of the female rapper over at her blog. I always find it a little more trustworthy to hear about female rappers...from other females. It usually confirms what most dudes think of them unfortunately though. Which is that alot of them suck in the grand scheme of things. I've said it before amongst friends, but female rappers (all rappers on a larger scale actually) are kinda like Black quarterbacks now. There was a time when they HAD to be great at what they were doing if they wanted to be accepted and respected, but somewhere in time enough of them either got accepted or got comfortable to the point that they could afford to be wack.

Howard broke the annoying female rappers down into three catagories: The Mood Ring Emcee, The Butch Emcee and The Rapping Whore. Peep what she had to say HERE.

On a related note, I interviewed Mia X for Ozonemag.com yesterday so be on the look out for that soon.

Thursday, October 15, 2009

Dictionary for Women and Men's English


[click to enlarge]

Saw this floating around on Twitter and I had to share it. Hilariously true.

Monday, September 28, 2009

SNL: Grady Wilson's Burning Up the Bedsheets



I'm sorry, but I found this to be mildly amusing. I don't watch Saturday Night Live like I used to, but they're still good for a laugh here and there. Plus, its cool that Atlanta's own Kenan Thompson is doing his thing. The skit is basically about an old ass man with a DVD teaching you different sex positions, on some ol' Clarence Carter shit. It actually started trailing off when they added Megan Fox into it, but its still funny overall...to me at least. I'm gonna try "The Skydiver" one of these days.

Friday, September 11, 2009

Random Realness: Chris Rock on Platonic Friends



I was only 16 when this came out and I hadn't quite experienced what he was talking about, but I knew what he was talking about. Because pretty much, in high school if you're getting into a girl and try to get into her later on and the shit fails? Embarassment keeps you from wanting to even be around her, let alone keep her around. So, the friend zone was pretty much non-existent at that age

But now years later, I know EXACTLY what he's talking about because I've been there and beyond. "The Friend Zone," actually knowing the next dude who gets with your ex, all of that shit. This entire clip speaks volumes. One of the main reasons why Bring the Pain is one of my favorite, if not my absolute favorite, stand-ups.

**UPDATE: I had to switch videos to this slightly shorter one. It seems like Chris Rock Enterprises had the original one I posted removed immediately after I posted it. Ya'll reading my blog?

Thursday, August 6, 2009

Innuendo Excercise: The Neckline Slimmer x The Shake Weight





Since its late and the kiddies are away from the computer (as if it matters these days) I figured I'd share some good old-fashioned seuxual innuendo humor with you folks. I found both of these vids over at the Smoking Section. The vids pretty much speak for themselves. My mind has now been perveted for the rest of the night...

*cues Gorilla Zoe*

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Craigslist To Drop "Erotic Services" ads



Yahoo! News is reporting that CraigsList is dropping their "erotic service" ads section after catching flack from a masseuse being murdered by a client who responded to one of her ads. After reading the article, it looks like all they're really doing is renaming it to an "adult" category where people wanting to advertise their "services" will have have to be screened and pay a fee to do so, as opposed to the old method where you could just set up shop with a "got that p*ssy" sign.

Its sad that it took someone getting killed for somebody to do something about this internet brothel. I mean, I don't care too too much about things that I myself don't partake in, but the Craigslist brothel truly represented all that's wrong in the world. You can just buy p*ssy on the internet like it ain't nothing? On Craigslist? A site that anyone can go to, no matter who young you are? Crazy.

I got hepped to this by my boy Eric who wrote a story on Craigslist prostitution for Ozone's Sex Issue year or so ago. I mean, I always kinda knew folks was selling sex via internet under the guise of being a "model" on myspace or what not. But I never knew there was eBay for sex. So, the story was very interesting to say the least.

Out of sheer curiousity, I let my eyes fall upon the "exotic services" page a couple times and boy...that ish was wild. Especially the profiles with the pictures. Not going to get into details, but all I'll say is that Nas' "Black (White, Hispanic, Asian) Girl Lost" kept playing in my head.

Seems like ever since that story came out, the more and more I heard about dudes going on Craigslist and buying hoes. I had an associate who purchased a couple pieces from there. Said one experience was good, another was bad. I'm just glad dude ain't get set up, never know what folks true agenda is on the internet.

If you want to peep Eric's story, here are some links:

Hooker Hunting: Page 1|Page 2|Page 3|Page 4






Tuesday, May 5, 2009

Oprah Is Keeping It Grill



Oprah Wing-frey is feeling it from the recession too I see. A couple of years ago she was giving away cars, nowadays she's giving away chicken. My brother thinks its rather coonish. I'm just skeptical of all of this damn chicken being given away all of a sudden. Popeye's, El Pollo Loco and now KFC? Something has got to be up whenever something is just given away for free or super cheap all of a sudden. Ya'll talking about swine flu, you need to keep an eye out on these chickens. But yeah, if you want some free chicken, you have until tomorrow to download the coupon and the 15th to use it. Tell'em Oprah sent ya!

Monday, May 4, 2009

Black HERstory Month: Ida Ljungqvist



I know I know. I don't usually post too many girlie flicks on the site, but I'm making an exception today. Ida Ljungqvist (um, I think its pronounced Lind-quist) is the 2009 Playmate of the Year, making her the first African to be bestowed the "honor." She was born in Tanzania.

You can visit her Wikipedia page or google her if you like to find out more about her. Google for racy pics too, 'cause I'm not posting them here.

My opinion? (glad you asked) Yeah, she's a winner. I mean, anyone that knows me knows that I like'em with a little more meat on their bones though. When I heard 2 Live Stews talking about her on the radio this afternoon saying she was the first "African" to be a Playmate I was thinking chocolate skin and curves, they said they hadn't seen her yet either. So when I looked shawty up, I wasn't really surprised to see she was of the Traci Bingham variety. Thinking or expecting her to "look" a certain way was probably ignorant on my part though. Guess I'll have to flip through Straight Stuntnin to see some "sistahs."

Ida don't have much of an ass, but who looks at Playboy for the ass, everybody knows their known for the "articles." But still, Ida is nice. I mean, if she came up on me and said "hello Maurice, would you like my phone number?" I'll say "yeah."

Either way, congrats to Ida L. Judging from this accomplishment and the hate that's already coming with it, she should be star for years to come.

Wednesday, July 30, 2008

I'm Not Mad At This Song...



Aight...when I first came across this song and video over at Firebrand's spot...I kinda clowned off instinct..IM'ing it to my boys and shit. I mean, you have to admit, Khia has one of those personalities and images that you kinda clown on the spot.

But, upon further review...I'm not mad at this song. I mean, it ain't a newsflash that men liked to be served and fed and shit, but it ain't often that you hear it in song (or maybe I'm not listening to the right stuff). But it seems like good amount of rap coming from the few females MCs out there either attack or demand shit from dudes. I'm either breaking your heart, f*cking your friend or too broke to afford ya. Sorry if I sound one-sided right now, but fugg it.

In this song, Khia (who has definitely made a jammin' song or two like the ones I just mentioned) is taking a subservient, domestic role that is nearly non-existent in Hip Hop from the female end. We get bombarded with images of chicks club-hopping, bottle-popping and ass dropping. Now, I ain't trying to piss off my female readers out there...I appreciate a woman who can go out and get her own, believe me I do. Although it may sound nice, I don't think anyone wants a woman who just sits at the house waiting around for them to tell them what to do.

But like Dre 3000 so eloquently said once "a nigga can't even get a back rub these days." And that's kinda how I feel sometimes. I mean, the Badu's and the Angie Stones of the world do their thing sometimes, but outside of a couple exceptions I can't recall any femcees doing that very often. Not saying that they HAVE to, but it is nice to hear a chick rhyming about wanting to be my potna, be my backbone, meet my mother, have my baby (when the time is right of course, not just for the hell of it), cook, clean and hustle with me. Shit is kinda encouraging. Especially since most male rappers do their share of male bashing too by constantly reminding niggas that they got more cars, clothes, money and hoes than you and your hatin' ass friends do.

Plus...even though potty-mouth Khia cusses a little on the song, I dig that song is called "Be Yo Lady"...not "Be Yo Bitch"..."Be Yo Bust It Baby"..."Be Yo Side Hoe."

What do ya'll think about the song? Do you dig what she's doing? Would you improve on anything? Do you think the whole maid routine is a bit much? Does it set the image of Black women or females in Hip Hop 11 steps back? Speak on it.

I'm Not Mad At This Song...



Aight...when I first came across this song and video over at Firebrand's spot...I kinda clowned off instinct..IM'ing it to my boys and shit. I mean, you have to admit, Khia has one of those personalities and images that you kinda clown on the spot.

But, upon further review...I'm not mad at this song. I mean, it ain't a newsflash that men liked to be served and fed and shit, but it ain't often that you hear it in song (or maybe I'm not listening to the right stuff). But it seems like good amount of rap coming from the few females MCs out there either attack or demand shit from dudes. I'm either breaking your heart, f*cking your friend or too broke to afford ya. Sorry if I sound one-sided right now, but fugg it.

In this song, Khia (who has definitely made a jammin' song or two like the ones I just mentioned) is taking a subservient, domestic role that is nearly non-existent in Hip Hop from the female end. We get bombarded with images of chicks club-hopping, bottle-popping and ass dropping. Now, I ain't trying to piss off my female readers out there...I appreciate a woman who can go out and get her own, believe me I do. Although it may sound nice, I don't think anyone wants a woman who just sits at the house waiting around for them to tell them what to do.

But like Dre 3000 so eloquently said once "a nigga can't even get a back rub these days." And that's kinda how I feel sometimes. I mean, the Badu's and the Angie Stones of the world do their thing sometimes, but outside of a couple exceptions I can't recall any femcees doing that very often. Not saying that they HAVE to, but it is nice to hear a chick rhyming about wanting to be my potna, be my backbone, meet my mother, have my baby (when the time is right of course, not just for the hell of it), cook, clean and hustle with me. Shit is kinda encouraging. Especially since most male rappers do their share of male bashing too by constantly reminding niggas that they got more cars, clothes, money and hoes than you and your hatin' ass friends do.

Plus...even though potty-mouth Khia cusses a little on the song, I dig that song is called "Be Yo Lady"...not "Be Yo Bitch"..."Be Yo Bust It Baby"..."Be Yo Side Hoe."

What do ya'll think about the song? Do you dig what she's doing? Would you improve on anything? Do you think the whole maid routine is a bit much? Does it set the image of Black women or females in Hip Hop 11 steps back? Speak on it.

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

Black Women Are Beautiful



This was easily the best part of the BET Awards last night. Anyone that knows me knows that I'm not a star gazer, but shit...at this point, I'm not ashamed to say I'm infatuated with Alicia Keys. She just keeps getting finer and finer. And I love the fact that speaks on issues and stands for causes when she gets the chance.

Her performance where she brought out SWV, En Vogue (who are still fine too, I saw them live at the MAZE concert two weekends ago) and TLC was great. A much needed shot of estrogen and classy women in the show. If you missed it, I posted the video for you to marvel at.

I was gonna do a semi-breakdown of the rest of the show, but I didn't want to sully this post with all that.

Black Women Are Beautiful



This was easily the best part of the BET Awards last night. Anyone that knows me knows that I'm not a star gazer, but shit...at this point, I'm not ashamed to say I'm infatuated with Alicia Keys. She just keeps getting finer and finer. And I love the fact that speaks on issues and stands for causes when she gets the chance.

Her performance where she brought out SWV, En Vogue (who are still fine too, I saw them live at the MAZE concert two weekends ago) and TLC was great. A much needed shot of estrogen and classy women in the show. If you missed it, I posted the video for you to marvel at.

I was gonna do a semi-breakdown of the rest of the show, but I didn't want to sully this post with all that.